# APPOINTMENT PANEL

ABERDEEN, 18 NOVEMBER, 2010. - Minute of Meeting of the APPOINTMENT PANEL. <u>Present</u>:- Lord Provost Stephen, <u>Chairperson</u>; and Councillors Adam, Dean, Hunter, McCaig, Malone, John Stewart, Kevin Stewart, John West and Wisely. <u>Officers in Attendance</u>:- Sue Bruce, Ewan Sutherland, and Vikki Cuthbert. <u>Also in Attendance</u>:- Ken Dalgleish, Munro Consulting; and Domenico D'Ambruoso and Michelle Shek (part of the meeting).

## EXEMPT INFORMATION

The Panel resolved in terms of Section 50(A)(4) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 to exclude the press and public from the meeting so as to avoid disclosure of exempt information of the class described in paragraph 1 of Schedule 7(A) to the Act.

## MINUTE OF PREVIOUS MEETING

**1.** The Panel had before it the minute of its meeting of 9 November, 2010.

With reference to Article 2 of the minute, the Chief Executive advised the Panel that, for operational reasons, the arrangements for cover for the post of Chief Executive would be in reverse order to those previously discussed.

## The Panel resolved:-

to approve the minute, and to note the revised arrangements for cover for the post of Chief Executive until the successful candidate was in place.

## POST OF CHIEF EXECUTIVE

**2.** With reference to the minute of its meeting of 9 November, 2010, the Appointment Panel met to interview candidates for the post of Chief Executive.

The Panel interviewed the candidates who had been short-leeted for the post, following which the outcomes of the full range of assessment information relevant to each applicant were considered.

## The Panel resolved:-

- (i) to offer the post of Chief Executive to V. Watts subject to satisfactory checks being undertaken, including references;
- (ii) that the post be offered to the candidate second preferred in the event that the preferred candidate was not appointed; and
- (iii) that the Chief Executive make arrangements to announce the successful candidate at the appropriate time, this to be determined by the checks referred to at (i) above.
- LORD PROVOST STEPHEN, Chairperson.